

The Corporation of the Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc

52 Frank Street, Strathroy ON N7G 2R4

Phone: 519-245-1070 / Fax: 519-245-6353

www.strathrov-caradoc.ca

October 21, 2024

RE: Southwest Community Transit Services

At its meeting held October 21, 2024 the Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc adopted the following resolution:

Moved By: Seconded By:

WHEREAS the County of Brant, Middlesex County, Municipality of Strathroy Caradoc, Norfolk County, Town of Tillsonburg, Municipality of East Zorra Tavistock, Grey County, Perth County, City of Stratford, Municipality of Lambton Shores, and Wellington County have successful utilized government funding to create and sustain local community transit through Southwest Community Transit; and

WHEREAS 85,000 riders have utilized the Southwest Community Transit services in the first have of 2024 alone, demonstrating significant community reliance on these services; and

WHEREAS the economic impact of this transit system is estimated to be \$748,800,000 annually, largely due to its role in providing transportation to employment opportunities; and

WHEREAS the current funding for this critical small urban and rural inter-community transit service is set to expire in March 2025, putting the sustainability of the service at risk:

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT: The Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc Council urges the provincial government to continue funding Southwest Community Transit beyond March 2025 to ensure the ongoing viability of this essential service for small urban and rural Ontario.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT: this resolution be circulated to the County of Brant, Elgin County, Middlesex County, Norfolk County, Oxford County, Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc, Town of Tillsonburg, Municipality of East Zorra Tavistock, Perth County, City of Stratford, Municipality of Lambton Shores, Wellington County, Bruce County, Municipality of Bayham, Municipality of Thames Centre and other relevant stakeholders for their support and advocacy.

Sincerely;

Brianna Hammer – Keidel Director of Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk